SIGN UP: King of the Rising by Kacen Callender

Genre: adult, epic fantasy

Diversity tags: author of color (black author), poc representation (all-black cast), lgbtqiap+ representation (asexual)

Publication date: 01 December 2020

Publisher: Orbit Books

☕ Add this book on goodreads
☕ Pre-order on amazon


Synopsis:


The second novel in the Islands of Blood and Storm series set in a Caribbean-inspired fantasy world embattled by colonial oppression—perfect for fans of R.F. Kuang and Tasha Suri.



A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik has been chosen to lead the survivors in a bid to free the islands forever. But the rebels are running out of food, weapons and options. And as the Fjern inch closer to reclaiming Hans Lollik with every battle, Loren is faced with a choice that could shift the course of the revolution in their favor-or doom it to failure.


Trigger & Content Warnings:

  • Racism
  • Slavery
  • Death
  • Torture
  • Violence
  • Rape/sexual assault

About the Author

Kacen Callender was born two days after a hurricane and was first brought home to a house without its roof. After spending their first eighteen years on St. Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, Kacen studied Japanese, Fine Arts, and Creative Writing at Sarah Lawrence College and received their MFA from the New School. Kacen is the author of the middle grade novel Hurricane Child and the young adult novel This Is Kind of an Epic Love Story.

About the Tour

The tour for King of the Rising accommodates both book bloggers and booktubers. It is open to both US-based and international creators, with priority being given to those who identify as Black and/or Caribbean. Its official hashtag is #KingOfTheRisingTour.

The tour will run from November 30th to December 4th, which falls within the book’s release. Reviews are required for this tour, regardless of platform. However, you are more than welcome to add other creative or promotional content of your preference.

Both print ARCs and digital galleys of King of the Rising will be distributed among all tour hosts, regardless of where they are based. For those who haven’t read the first book yet, digital galleys of Queen of the Conquered can also be provided upon request.

All tour hosts are required to provide their NetGalley email addresses. This will serve as a precaution for shipping delays, missing packages, among other issues outside our control. Hence, you must have a NetGalley account to participate.

Sign-ups will close within next week, and the selected tour hosts will be contacted via email. The CBT Twitter account will announce once the confirmation emails have been sent out.

For other concerns or inquiries, you are more than welcome to leave a comment!

Published by Shealea

Shealea likes sunflowers, research, and inclusive literature. In 2020, she graduated from the University of the Philippines Diliman with a bachelor's degree in Communication Research.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: